Sandralala

Field Trip to DMZ

Posted on: April 30, 2009

When I started watching short documentary “Field Trip to DMZ” produced by PBS, I was surprised that non-Koreans were interested enough in Korean reunification to make a video on it.  I never expected people outside of Korea would care about the reunification and hardships of minority like Hyejung.

Watching the video, I realized how ignorant I was about the reunification. I only had general idea of what it is and didn’t go far enough to feel the pain of departed families. I haven’t really had a chance to think about people who crossed the border from north to south. No wonder the idea of school for students from the north was interesting and amazing to me.

I felt sorry for Hangyure School students for what they have missed during their childhood. Things I have taken for granted such as using compurters, watching movies, and receiving education were things that they could never imagine. It was shocking that North Korean school taught false information to prevent the students from knowing that there is a better life outside of North Korea.

I realized that so many things need to be done for students like Hyujung. There should be more schools like Hangyure so that people from the north can adapt more easily and quickly to the technological world. There should be more publicity about the lives of these students so that more people can help them. Above anything else, reunification should come true soon. It is heartbreaking to see these young students crying out for their parents with wet voices. How hurting would it be to live away from their families, knowing that they are still suffering in the north? I wish more people watch this documentary and contribute to the path to reunification.

 

Click on the image to go watch this video!

Click on the image to go watch this video!

Leave a Reply

  • Alice: Very insightful. I shall take your advice :]
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Categories

